All the Two’s…Twenty-Two

So over the weekend, I celebrated my 22nd year on planet Earth and upon reflecting over the last few years of my life, I’ve decided that for the rest of my twenties, I am going to approach life in a different way.

After graduating last July, I have fretted non-stop about nabbing that perfect media job which will set me up for life so I can have a view of the city from my fabulous bachelorette pad in London and finally own a Chanel 2.55. I’ve spent many a sleepless night wondering if whether I’m making enough effort to nab said job or whether to retreat back into my shell and give up. I go through stages of feeling bitter about the current economic situation and wondering why on earth I’ve got myself into approximately Β£18,000 worth of debt from tuition fees and student loans when I haven’t moved from my current rung of the ladder.

BUT then I realised…

(And yes, Mother, if you’re reading this, it’s what you’ve been telling me all along!)

Something WILL come along eventually and I am determined that through hard work at my current job, blogging, other side projects and the contacts that I know, it will all pay off.

I’m an impatient person but at the end of the day, 22 isn’t old and there are still so many doors that are waiting to be opened. Sometimes in life, one door opens for you and stays open. Other times, the door lets you in but swiftly smacks you back in the face or it doesn’t let you in at all. Just learn from those “doors,” until you find one that gives you a key and allows you to paint it your own colour.

Like Alice, find the right door

I’m making the best out of what I have at the moment and I’m determined that if I have any setbacks, I won’t lock myself in my room and cry about them, I’ll take a step back and reflect upon them and therefore learn from them. Of course, human emotion can sometimes overpower rationale but to use the old cliche, if at first you don’t succeed, dust yourself off and try again.

All of the above can be applied to any aspect of your life whether it be through work, social or personal. I’ve also learned from the past year that trying to keep forcing a door open when it doesn’t want to be opened or let you in anymore doesn’t work so I’m shutting it and walking away from it. In the long run, surrounding yourself with things that make you feel negative can affect other aspects of your life so it’s best to end that chapter and move onto the next.

I know this blog entry is all very philosophical but I think birthdays can always be seen as a sort of fresh beginning. Although you don’t feel older initially, it’s always a good starting point for reflection and making the next 365 days as good as and even better than the past 21 years.

Close one chapter and start the next...

Today is how my book begins…the rest is still unwritten.

 

One thought on “All the Two’s…Twenty-Two

  1. So this is what a helpful, positive, well written, mentally sound and socially acceptable blog looks like. This is what my writing would be like if I was sane.

    Nice job Stace.

    Jack x

Leave a Reply

