An Evening at Sheesh

You join me on another Sunday afternoon and what a grey and dismal afternoon it is. All the more reason to huddle up on the sofa, surrounded by the Sunday papers, waiting in anticipation of your roast dinner. Today, I sadly won’t be having one of my mother’s awesome meals as I am off to Cheerleading practice (Do. Not. Laugh.) with my friend Charlotte, as it’s Bring-a-Friend-and-laugh-at-them week. I feel less guilty about having just devoured a miniature Chicago Town Pizza knowing that I will be burning it off with two hours of exercise…amusing blog post to follow.

The fabulous Sheesh restaurant in Chigwell, Essex.

On Friday, I had the most beautiful evening with the lovely ladies from work as we dined and danced at Sheesh, a Turkish restaurant in the heart of Essex. A favourite amongst the TOWIE crowd, it’s located at the beautiful Ye Old King’s Head, which dates back to 1547. Lavishly decorated with zebra print carpets adorning the upstairs bars and gold chandeliers as the centrepiece of every room, it’s a gorgeous place if you’re looking for somewhere different to go to for an evening.

The menu itself is extensive, offering a wide range of starters from Hummus to olives, Turkish flatbread, cheeses and salads while kebabs and fish dishes dominate the main menu. If you’re a vegetarian, you’re still well catered for and I had the delicious Vegetable Mousaka for my main course. If you’re seated in the main dining hall, you can watch the chefs prepare the kebabs in front of you on the grill. Unfortunately, we were too full for dessert and too eager to sashay our way upstairs to the piano bar for the entertainment but from the quality of our meal, I have no doubt that their sweets are just delightful. Prices are incredibly reasonable for the high reputation that the restaurant has, so you get more than your money’s worth.

Our entertainment for the evening were Sheesh’s regular band with the talented Tina T on vocals, Lester Osborne on percussion and the too-cool-for-school Ian Ritchie on the sax. They played a mixture of Motown classics right up to the chart music of today from Aretha Franklin and Evelyn Champagne King to Katy B and Cee-Lo Green.

A reasonable amount of Sauvignon Blanc was drunk and we danced our socks off for the rest of the evening. I managed to find an awesome little red dress from Oasis which I teamed with my LK Bennett Sledge platforms. Photos to come!

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday whatever you’re up to, I’m off to make a spectacle of myself…2-4-6-8!!

Leave a Reply

