Patience and Determination

Dear friends and family that know my good news already, I’m truly sorry if I’m like a broken record at the moment and keep going on like an excited child in the lead-up to Christmas.

To the next chapter…

But lo and behold, after a year of whinging, frustration, tears, swinging from despondency and spending a whole day tapping away at my laptop furiously, countless emails, work experience, so-near-yet-so-far moments, help from friends and their contacts and words of wisdom and advice from you all….I have a new job as a legal secretary and will be leaving the realms of retail next month.

Patience and determination really does pay off, as I’ve said before in one of my more philosophical blog posts. When you want something so bad, don’t think “Will it ever happen?” always think “When will it happen?” Don’t ever give up on your ambitions, no matter how long it takes you to get there and how you get there. It’s true what they say, you learn from your experiences and sometimes an opportunity will come up that you think is perfect for you but turns out to be not what you expected. Other times, an opportunity may come up that you may not have necessarily picked as your first choice but go with it, because it may lead you to things that you didn’t even realise you’d enjoy doing or you’d learn so much from. It’s opportunities and chances like that, that could possibly lead you on to bigger and better things.

Always keep your mind open with your career and your ambitions. Sure you can have an ideal goal like “I want to be a reporter for The Times,” but it takes time, patience, determination and a lot of hard work to get there. Don’t ever be disheartened if things change or things don’t work out because that small local paper you’re currently working for, writing stories on a petition against a new recycling centre or horses that have been abandoned in a field is all good valuable experience. Take everything in, even the bad experiences e.g. the time you got your boss’ lunch order wrong and forgot to get a receipt for petty cash resulting in a small ticking off and being assigned to sorting the clippings folder for the rest of the day. It’s all a learning curve. You could end up as editor of your local paper and it may not be The Times but it’s something that’s got your stamp on it. Always aim to make your mark on the world in a positive way, however big or small.

Anyways, before I ramble on any further sounding like old granny grunt because I’m at the start of the next chapter in my life and I still have a hell of a lot of learning to do, I’d just wanted to share the good news with you. And yes, allow me one soppy moment but a HUGE thank you to all of my friends, family and work colleagues who’ve gave me advice and support especially on one of my more despondent days. I will miss my lovely work ladies immensely and if I  could pick you all up and make you borrower-size, I’d take you with me.

Cheers to the next chapter…

Leave a Reply

