Cabin Fever and Wanderlust

First and foremost, I apologise for my lack of blogging posts since New Year’s day; a slight affliction of the January blues and getting back into the swing of things post-Christmas are mostly to blame. Nevertheless, I am now writing to you from the cosy pit that is my boudoir, having decided that hibernation from today is the way forward.

Don’t get me wrong, snow’s pretty and all that jazz but unless you’re at primary school age where snow days are inevitable because Dairy Crest can’t fulfil their delivery duties, it loses much of its elements of fun. As I’ve probably mentioned before, I hate being cold with a passion and would happily live in Sahara-like conditions all year round if I wasn’t confined to the British Isles. The winter months over here and our dismal summers constantly give me itchy feet and if I were offered a job in somewhere like Australia tomorrow, I’d be on that plane quicker than you can say “G’day mate!

Wanderlust...a very strong and impulsive desire to travel. Photo courtesy of enjoyeventscoblog.com

Wanderlust…a very strong and impulsive desire to travel. Photo courtesy of enjoyeventscoblog.com

As much as I find change to deal with at times, I do have this underlying craving for a change of scenery and working abroad has always been one of my major life goals. I guess it’s all about timing and money in this sense because with the uncertainty of the economy, people feel even more pressured to hold on to their current jobs for security purposes and of course, to travel and work abroad, money is another massive factor. If you’re slightly more carefree, perhaps you’ll chuck a few belongings into your polka-dotted handkerchief, get a one-way ticket to anywhere and promise to return when the economy has “sorted itself out.” A girl can dream right?

While I plot my imaginary escape to paradise in my head, in the meantime, I am living my last day and a half as a 22 year old…eeeek! Although I can’t imagine I’ll develop wrinkles overnight, it does take me one year closer to the big 3-0 and as they say, time flies by when you’re having fun. I do however look forward to a week’s worth of revelry with my friends and family, snow or no snow!

I am also still embarking on my fitness regime, which was temporarily thrown off course by illness, but I have now officially signed up for the Swimathon 2013, where I’ll be taking on the Ultimate 5K Challenge (that’s 200 lengths in layman’s terms!) in April. The Swimathon helps to raise money for Marie Curie Cancer Care, an amazing charity whose nurses help to provide home support for people with terminal illnesses and their relatives.

Since 2007, more than 100,000 swimmers have jumped in the water and raised vital funds, last year alone more than 26,000 swimmers raised a staggering £2.4 million.”

So if you would like to show your support and help me raise funds for a brilliant cause, you can sponsor me here and donate online at:

http://my.artezglobal.com/personalPage.aspx?registrationID=411798&langPref=en-CA 

Thank you so much for your sponsorship in advance and I will of course keep you up to date with my progress on here. I’ve so far been hitting the 100 lengths mark in my sessions so far and like with anything long distance, it’s all about building up your stamina. I’ve always wanted to get involved in the Swimathon, having swum competitively from my childhood to my teens and I wanted a goal to work towards so that I could get back into it and have the added bonus of keeping fit. It also ticks off at least three goals on 2013’s Bucket-list; keep fit, take on a challenge for charity and get back into swimming. Hoorah!

Working abroad is definitely on my general bucket-list and although, stranger things have happened, I think it’s always a little sensible to keep your goals slightly realistic. But of course, my inner carefree soul hopes that she’ll be writing to you from a beach this time next year.

2 thoughts on “Cabin Fever and Wanderlust

  1. Super duper blog as per Danner! If I can get my sh*t together and go abroad you definitely can! Australian Brad tells me there are heaps of journo jobs in Aus so get picking out your fair-weather work wear m’lady! xxxxxxxx

  2. Thank you Kiks! That’d be absolutely blimmin’ amazing! Doing a bunch of research around it as we speak. If I don’t do it, I’ll end up regretting it! Come on another adventure with meeeeee! 🙂 xxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

