Beauty Post: My skincare essentials

Hope you’re all having a nice, chilled Sunday. As promised I’ve decided to write a beauty post, one of many in the coming weeks, where I’ll be focusing on different kinds of beauty products. Today I’m focusing on my favourite skincare products, afterall its important to look after your skin as it’s the largest organ of the human body and it goes through a hell of a lot in your lifetime.

Being fair skinned and freckled comes pretty much hand in hand with having sensitive skin I think so I have to be especially careful about which face creams and moisturisers I use. Nothing too heavy or fragranced as it can leave my skin feeling sore and irritated.

Light moisturisers and creams are best for fair, sensitive, freckled skin

Light moisturisers and creams are best for fair, sensitive, freckled skin

Nivea Soft is one of my favourite moisturising creams. Not only is it light on your skin (perfect for more sensitive types) leaving it feeling soft and hydrated but the added jojoba oil smells beautiful without being overpowering. It’s also easy on your purse strings with a standard 75ml bottle priced at £2.45. During the summer, I also use Nivea’s tinted moisturiser, especially before a night out as the light-reflecting pigments give your skin a lovely subtle peachy glow while their suncream is an absolute holiday essential for me. I love the fact that their products always smell amazing without leaving your skin feeling oily.

Being a sensitive type (ha!) I sometimes need a little help with making my skin look perky especially when it’s raining one minute and then 24C heat the next, it plays havoc with your pores. If you need a product that it is completely perfume free then I highly recommend the Simple range. My particular favourites are the Kind to Skin Hydrating Light Moisturiser and the Kind to Skin Moisturising Facial Wash. They also have a variety of facial cleansers for different skin types so whether you have normal, dry, oily or combination skin, you’re pretty much sorted. Again Simple’s products aren’t going to cause a massive dent in your bank account so put them on your essentials list.

My skincare essentials

My skincare essentials

Like everyone, I am prone to the odd breakout every now and again, especially when I’m feeling tired or a tad run-down. Ironically, during my teenage years I was lucky that I wasn’t prone to spots or blemishes but they’ve become a bit more frequent as I’ve reached my twenties…waaaaa! But fear not! Sometimes really expensive treatments can cause further irritation so I try to stick to more natural solutions like Witch Blemish Gel. If you feel a breakout coming on, apply a thin layer of the oil-free lotion and within less than 24 hours, any reddening or soreness of the skin will have diminished. The gel helps to clear any excess oil and bacteria, leaving your skin looking visibly clearer. I also use Simple’s Spotless Skin Rapid Action Spot Zapper for any larger blemishes.

While our summer still continues to be hit and miss, on days when the sun decides to show its face, we all want to ditch the tights and get the pins out. Dry, corned-beef legs are never a good look so I like to use a moisturiser with a gradual tanner. Garnier Summerbody Moisturising Lotion is perfect for those who don’t want to splash out loads on tanning products without looking like Madge from Benidorm. If you’re fair skinned like me, I can’t pull off the mahogany look without it looking super fake and lets face it, streaky and patchy nine times out of ten. Summerbody has the added bonus of leaving your skin feeling moisturised while gradually building up a natural sun-kissed glow. Unlike most tanning products, it doesn’t have that tell-tale musty digestive biscuit scent to it, the extracts of apricot leave a subtle fruity fragrance instead. Before using any tanning products, exfoliate 24 hours prior to applying and always use a mitt.

Finally, every now and again I like to treat myself and go on a bit of a splurge. Clarins is my favourite luxury skincare brand and their spa treatments are second to none. If I fancy a bit of a pamper, I always go to their One-Step Gentle Exfoliating Cleanser with Orange extracts to clear my skin of any dead cells. Those with sensitive skin will know that a good exfoliator can be hard to find, as some can do more damage than good. Clarins Exfoliating Cleanser can be used daily without leaving your skin feeling dry and I always follow up with their Cleansing Milk and Toner to counterbalance. Of course like most skincare brands, Clarins offers products for different skin types too.

So that’s my list of essential skincare products, what ones do you favour? If any of you have sensitive skin like me, which ranges do you find best suit your skin?

I’ve got another jam packed week coming up- tomorrow  evening I’m at Company Magazine’s Blogging Forum which I’m majorly excited about! Looking forward to meeting other bloggers, gaining some tips and doing a bit of networking. I’ll be hitting the pool as usual in between because I’ve got a team together for a triathlon in July so I’ll be concentrating on 400m sprints and then on Saturday I’m heading to Hard Rock Calling to see Kasabian, Paul Weller, Klaxons, The Cribs, Kodaline and Tribes…EEEEEEEEP!!! I’ll be featuring all of the above on here, as and when.

Have an awesome week whatever you’re up to!

2 thoughts on “Beauty Post: My skincare essentials

Leave a Reply

