Winter Warmers

Winter. Image via WeHeartIt on Pinterest

Winter. Image via WeHeartIt on Pinterest

This post is way, way overdue but when I do fashion posts, I like to take the time to find the best things to feature on the blog…that and the ol’ social calendar is booming again. Bang goes my bank account.

I’ve also started scheduling posts now rather than putting pressure on myself to work on  a post in one sitting and then publish it, especially because by the time I finish posts, it can be like 10/11pm. At least I can work on several posts over the week and get the right timings in for publishing…I’m talking like I’ve only just discovered this but I’ve been meaning to get it sorted for a while!

Anyways, without further ado, here are my Winter Warmer picks:

Knitwear

ASOS Christmas Jumper: £35.00

ASOS Christmas Jumper: £35.00

Admittedly I am not a massive fan of Angora wool or really chunky knitwear (the fluff drives me insane!) but I like to add a light over-sized jumper or cardigan over a vest-top or a shirt. As we all know, layering is key when it comes to British weather! I’m also seeing a lot of bloggers throwing a jumper over a dress to create a faux-skirt effect, which means great news for my more ‘summery’ tea-dresses as I can still get away with wearing them throughout the winter. Christmas jumpers have never been so cool so get involved by getting the whole family involved over the festive season (the ‘best’ one could win a prize?) or get your office to partake in Christmas Jumper Day on the 13th December 2013, to raise money for Save the Children. From Primark to Burberry, it’s affordable for everyone.

Boots

I literally looked for ages for a pair of boots that:

1) didn’t make my size 6.5/7 flipper-feet look huge

2) were the right heel size so that I didn’t look like I was going on a night out if I wanted to wear them for work and

3) were a price that didn’t make my eyes water.

New Look Boots: £27.99

New Look Boots: £27.99

New Look are always my fail-safe when it comes to shoes and I found that I had loads of choice but they either didn’t have my size or they’d sold out…waaaa! Eventually during my Christmas shopping expedition to Westfield (that’s another story altogether!) I found these little bad boys nicely priced at £27.99. The chunky heel isn’t too OTT for the office but I can still wear them with jeans or leggings at the weekend. They’re uber comfy too, I have a feeling that I’ll be wearing these until they fall off my feet. Once again New Look, you never let me down!

There are literally hundreds of boots to choose from on the High Street though, I usually go for a suede wedge, I’ve worn my tan New Look ones and my black Next skater-wedges to death! Cut-out sides are a big trend for AW13 but if you’re like me and hate the thought of baring half of your ankle on a cold, frosty morning, I’ll leave that to the hardcore fashionistas.

Accessories

I do luuurve a winter accessory and of course, where better to go to than Accessorize. I have far too much jewellery from that store, I’m like a magpie whenever I walk past one! Here are my picks of some snuggly winter warmers:

Accessorize Snowflake Boots: Now £17.00

Accessorize Snowflake Boots: Now £17.00

I love these little bootie-slippers and they’re festive themed for the occasion too. I’ve got a cream pair with a brooch that I love putting on with some PJs after a nice, hot bubble-bath. They’re also a perfect little gift for a friend who isn’t a fan of toastie socks.

Accessorize Chunky Cable-knit scarf: £22.00

Accessorize Chunky Cable-knit scarf: £22.00

It’s actually ridiculous how many scarves I own and the majority of them are actually from a Spanish market, where my grandparents live, who’d have thought it right?! I also own a few Accessorize ones, courtesy of my lovely uni friends and they do some gorgeous knitted, cable-knit scarves in various patterns. I think neutral colours work best of course with any outfit or coat and instead opt for light, colourful pashminas when it comes to eveningwear, if you’re that way inclined.

Accessorize Angora Beret with brooch: £19.00

Accessorize Angora Beret with brooch: £19.00

Last but not least, your winter accessory wardrobe is not complete without a cute little hat. So far I’ve resisted all temptation to buy one with panda ears but I do love a little beret or a tea-cosy hat as I like to call them! If I lived in the countryside and owned a couple of dogs, I’m pretty sure I’d own one of those Kurt Cobain-esque Deer Hunter get-ups but instead I’m a city gal with two crazy cats. I digress…this little beauty from Accessorize is perfect if you’re going out for the evening and if you want to jazz up one of your plain winter hats, then add a little brooch or bow of your own. Parisian chic!

Hearty food

Steaming tomato soup with a huge chunk of soft med bread, an oozing cheese toastie, a beautifully prepared stew with chunky vegetables…are you salivating yet? While admittedly I’m not the most adventurous of people with my food, I do appreciate simple hearty dishes that will warm you up at the end of a long day at work. There is nothing better than snuggling up in front of a good movie with a mug of tea and a plate of freshly baked chocolate chip cookies and if you’re looking to make some of your own grub this winter, then check out Milk Bubble Tea (featuring the best of yummy recipes) and The Littlest Things (who has just started an awesome foodie project with her Dad- What to cook tonight).

Candles

An effective ambience. Image via Lovethispic.com on Pinterest

An effective ambience. Image via Lovethispic on Pinterest

So how can I be a blogger and not mention candles in my Winter Warmers post? If you don’t know your Yankee from your Diptyque, where have you been?! I’m kidding but candles are big this year y’know and while there’s no way on earth I’d pay £70 for one, they’re a nice little decorative room accessory and they smell gorge too. Of course, you can also be creative and stick a bog standard one in an empty wine bottle for an authentic ambience but whatever takes your fancy. Candles in jars do have the added security of being contained and if you’re as clumsy as I am, that’s probably a good thing! Us girls also love a scented candle (pebbles and scatter cushions anyone?) so the ever popular Salted Caramel and Christmas Cookie ones from Yankee would make a nice little stocking filler…or for yourself.

So there’s a few of my little Winter Warmers for you, do you feel all warm and fuzzy inside now?

Bon weekend!

Leave a Reply

