Time to Come of Age

Today I turn the grand old age of 24 and according to the Vaccines, its time to come of age. I always thought that turning 21 was the definitive time that you become “an adult,” but looking back, I was in my last year of uni and the biggest woes I had were completing my final project without having a mental breakdown and trying to pass my driving test. In this day and age, kids seem to grow up quicker but when is the exact moment that you ‘officially’ become an adult?

Image via Pinterest

Image via Pinterest

Is it passing your driving test, getting your degree or getting your first job? Or is it moving out, getting married and having kids? A couple of years ago I did feel like I was a million miles behind some of my friends, I was still fighting to get a job role that I really wanted to do, most of them were in long-term relationships with some of them living together or getting married. This time last year, I told myself to stop worrying about what everyone else was doing because you reach milestones and ‘life events’ (cheers Facebook) when its right for you and not to try and play ‘keeping up with the Joneses.’

My parents were married, had a house and me by the time they were 24 but as much as I’d like to be living in my own place right now, its not feasible, times have changed and we shouldn’t put pressure on ourselves to try and follow in the footsteps of generations before us. Women are having their careers first and their children much later, young adults are living with their parents longer because the mortgage situation is quite frankly ridiculous and most of us don’t marry the first person we fall in love in with. There’s no such thing as the ‘norm,’ anymore and I’ve realised that life isn’t a long to-do list of things you need to tick off, its about experiencing them at the right time for you. Don’t run before you can walk, as the old saying goes!

So I’m going to enjoy my last year of being an 18-24 year old and see where life takes me next…

Cheers to the next 365 days!

Leave a Reply

