Fash Trend SS14: Girly Hues

Girly Hues

Spring is trying so desperately to break through and I wish it would hurry up so that I can ditch my winter Hobbit coat and scarf! After working on Saturday though, it was nice to get out and enjoy some of the weekend’s glorious sunshine. Pretty beer garden, sunnies and cider- perfect!

I thought I’d do another little fashion post because I’m obsessed with all the beautiful colours I’m seeing all over the high street at the moment. Got a busy couple of months coming up with more gigs, a wedding reception and birthdays so I’ll definitely need to start updating my wardrobe. I think I’ve mentioned before that I’m a terrible shopper and I get frustrated if I can’t find anything, which usually happens if I’m looking for an outfit for a special occasion. I’ll occasionally swing by Westfield on my way home from work but I like to be in and out, as quickly as I can! Don’t even get me started on shopping on a Saturday ha! Nowadays its a case of window-shopping on my way to and from work and seeing what catches my eye. It seems to be working so far…

So another SS14 trend: Girly Hues. Think pinks, nudes, blushes, glitter and a statement floral necklace. For me, Dorothy Perkins have got this trend spot-on with their Spring Candy collection. From lightweight knits for those overcast days to ladylike midi-dresses and pastel blouses to pop some colour into your work wardrobe, they’re definitely one of my go-to’s for a little spring update.

I pretty much wore most of this outfit on our little Sunday jaunt- the River Island necklace and Clinique cheek-pop blusher are still on my wish-list though! Admittedly I’m neither a very girly nor ‘pink’ kinda gal but I love how versatile the blush blouse is. Dress it down at the weekend with your pumps or tuck it in a pencil skirt to wear to the office for a chic look. One of the best things about DP is that their price-points are not mega OTT so there’s always a chance that when you go in store for one thing, you come out with an entire outfit or an added accessory. Speaking of accessories, the Lexington satchel (above) from Accessorize is one of my favourite bags at the moment and I’m finding any excuse to take it out with me. It adds a nice pop of colour if you’re wearing neutrals.

Which SS14 trends are you wearing at the moment and from which store?

Have a great week! x

Leave a Reply

