Gift Ideas: Mother’s Day

Mother's Day

The blogosphere is usually inundated with Gift Ideas posts for holidays/occasions throughout the year but since I’m out four nights in a row this week (check me out: one to tick off the 25 list!) I decided to create a little collage to help those of you who are still looking for ideas for your Mumma. Afterall, she’s one of the most important people in my life.

I can’t reveal what I’ve got my own Mum for Mother’s Day because I know she reads my blog ha (hi Mum!) but I’m hoping that these ideas will give you some inspiration. Flowers and chocolates are nice but if your Mum is a bit of a fashionista, it’s lovely to treat herself to something that she may not necessarily buy herself. Mums look after us so its important that we look after them.

I’m lucky that my Mum and I are basically the same dress size (slightly gutted that I have bigger feet than her) so when we’re sick of our own wardrobes, we dip into each others from time to time. I usually borrow her dresses or blouses while she normally comes to me for coloured knitwear/cardigans. Pauline Fowler- eat your heart out!

If your Mum hasn’t treated herself in a while to some clothes, this Oasis Polka-dot printed blouse is perfect for the office and the weekend if she’s out and about. The oatmeal colour is also bang on trend for Spring and the light-weight fabric is perfect for rain or shine. If she’s handbag-mad and already owns a gazillion tan or black numbers, this punchy number is an ideal size for her to carry all her essentials, while adding a pop of colour for Spring. Accessorize‘s Georgia-winged Tote has proved to be one of their most popular products since appearing in their AW13 collection and also comes in Lilac, Green and Navy this season.

How often does your Mum buy jewellery for herself? If yours is anything like mine, she tends to wear the same pieces everyday because they have sentimental value. Everyone is watch-mad in my family so it’s an accessory that’s always on one of the wish-lists. This rose-gold DKNY watch is absolutely gorgeous and if your Mum does like her designer accessories, this has the perfect price point that won’t break the bank but will still make a lovely gift.

Everyone likes a bit of indulgence and if your Mum has a tendency to waiver beauty products in favour of the weekly shop, now is a good time to pamper her. Good ol’ Boots currently have their Clinique Bonus Time offer on until 2 April; purchase two products and receive a gorgeous beauty box filled with moisturising lotion, cleanser, foundation, mascara, eye-cream and lipbalm. Keep two of the products for yourself or give them all to Mum for an uber-treat. If you’re stuck on which products to buy her, Spa treatments are the ultimate luxury for hard-working Mums.

Both my Mum and I are perfume-fiends and we both love having options with our fragrances, even if they’re the same ones we tend to buy over and over again. I had a wander around Debenhams‘ Beauty Counter the other week and filled my bag with swatches of Marc Jacobs Daisy Delight and Calvin Klein’s Endless Euphoria but the one fragrance that did stand out to me amongst the new ones on offer was Dolce by Dolce and Gabbana. Not only will the floral bottle look elegant on your Mum’s dressing table but it’s a feminine scent with top notes of Neroli leaves and Papaya flower, middle notes of White Amaryllis and Musky base notes. It has a beautiful sweet smell but with a distinct kick of spice- perfect for stylish Mummas.

Finally, all Mums like winding down at the end of the day with a nice cuppa and their favourite soap. ‘World’s Best Mum’ mugs always look a bit naff to me and my Mum has this thing about matching cutlery in the kitchen. She can brighten up her desk at work with a cute, girlie Cath Kidston mug instead and if they come in a pack, that’s always handy too! And who doesn’t love a scented candle? They’re a Blogger favourite and they’re also a Mummy favourite. Yankee Candles have just released their newest range for spring and Champaca Blossom jar has a warm, fruity fragrance which is perfect for the shorter evenings now that Spring is here…well, sort of.

Whatever you get up to this Mother’s Day, have an amazing one! x

Leave a Reply

