Out & About #2

Wow…what an insanely busy couple of weeks it’s been. I mean I like living la vida loca but I feel like I’ve been seriously burning the candle at both ends lately. I can’t really complain though as it’s been a nice mix of work/fun! Easter is almost upon us, of course and I’ve got a few more exciting things coming up over the next couple of months like…the Great Escape Festival in Brighton and Arctic Monkeys at Finsbury Park…nuff said right?

So today I’m talking gigs and over the last couple of weeks, I’ve managed three in amongst other events. First up was Scottish singer-songwriter Nina Nesbitt at Shepherd’s Bush Empire (a little review of mine was in The Sunday Mirror- huzzah!) and it was a bit of mixed crowd with a few teens, a back row full of hipster indie kids and a couple more mature types, which was nice to see. Nina’s voice kinda reminds me of KT Tunstall or Amy Macdonald with a bit of Taylor Swift thrown in looks-wise. While she hasn’t got the stage presence of someone like Ellie Goulding, for example, her songs such as Selfies and He’s The One I’m Bringing back are infectious and she also performed a beautiful rendition of Say Something I’m Giving Up on You.

Next up was the NME Awards Tour at Brixton Academy. We unfortunately didn’t manage to catch Circa Waves on their opening slot but Royal Blood were blimmin’ awesome. The Brighton duo consist of vocalist/bassist Mike Kerr and drummer Ben Thatcher and jesus, can these guys make some noise. They’re playing at the Great Escape and supporting Arctic Monkeys next month so I can’t wait to catch them again. Many thanks also to Andy at Warner Bros Records for sending me a vinyl edition of their latest single Little Monster! In the support slot were Temples, who I was really excited about seeing but their music didn’t get the crowd going as much as I thought it would. I think there’s so many bands out there with that psychedelic sixties sound at the moment and I think it can be hard to distinguish. Still, you should check out their track Shelter Song – such a summer tune! Headlining were Interpol and after refreshing my love for them last summer, it was amazing to see them live. They performed some of their new material as well as classics like Stella and Slow Hands and I believe they’ve recently announced another London date for June.

Last Tuesday we were at Brixton again for the Wild Beasts gig, completely different crowd to the NME one but they put on a cracking show, complete with lasers. Yes- lasers! They’re also headlining at the Great Escape next month alongside Example (yeeeee) and Kelis (Milkshake. Boys. Yard.).

The second to last pic is of course, my Mumma and I, when I was about 2/3 I think in Dawlish. Dontcha just love the matching floral twin-set? Not much has changed to be fair! We had a lovely relaxing day for Mother’s Day and I donned my apron to bake a yummy Victoria Sponge, if I do say so myself. Unfortunately it was consumed rather quickly before I could take any blog-worthy pics!

And last but not least, I thought I’d add this picture of Adam and I before we went to my friends’ wedding reception last Thursday. It was lovely to catch up with some old friends from school and admittedly, lots of wine was drunk…Friday was fun. Ha. My dress, in case you’re interested, is from Oasis (sale bargain- Β£25!) and I paired it with a coral statement necklace from Accessorize and my trusty LK Bennett heels. How I managed to walk across the gravel carpark without falling on my face is beyond me and I’m talking pre-wine here!

Next week will be another busy one with a gig on Monday night (Tom Williams & The Boatcheck them out, seriously!) and plans for Adam’s birthday, lets hope the sun comes out, otherwise we’ll be rather soggy on the Thames- stay tuned!

Have an amazing weekend! x

Leave a Reply

