What I’m listening to: New Music

As you may or may not know, I compile and write a weekly Gig panel for The Ticket in the Daily Mirror (grab a copy today!) but one of my favourite things about it, is discovering new music. This might be through PRs, Twitter or my fave radio station XFM, who are great at premièring new music. So here are a few bands (some old, some up-and-coming) and songs that I’m OBSESSED with at the moment.

Coasts- Oceans

Heard this Bristol five-piece on XFM and I can’t stop listening to this song! It hooks you in with the its riff before crashing into the chorus; it basically screams ‘Festival anthem.’ If you like Foals, you’ll love these guys and you can catch them on tour in September.

Courteeners- Summer

Love the opening bass lines to this track. The Manc four-piece unveiled this as the first track from their new album Concrete Love, due for release on the 18th August. I’ve loved this band since their first album and “You’re Not Nineteen Forever,” is up there if I ever had a soundtrack to my life throughout my teens ha! ‘Summer,’ just makes you want to drive down to the coast for a perfectly British day at the beach.

Catfish & The Bottlemen- Kathleen

Very Strokes-esque and very catchy. These guys are already selling out shows at venues like The Dingwalls in Camden and their debut album The Balcony is out on the 15th September.

Coldplay- A Sky Full of Stars

Their new album is amaaaaazing! I’ve had a hot and cold relationship with Coldplay over the years because as much as I love The Scientist and A Rush of Cold Blood To The Head, after listening to them too much, they’re a tad depressing. Thankfully Chris Martin seems to have got his creative juices back (Cheers Gwyneth) and I actually like their new sound. Die-hard Coldplay fans will probably hate me for saying that but Martin hasn’t lost his lyrical genius in the process.

Ed Sheeran- Sing

It’s ridiculous how much I want to see this guy live! I’m sadly not going to one of his tour dates this winter but in the meantime, I’ll probably have X on repeat as much as I did with +.

Lewis Watson- Stay

Love listening to this, especially on those overcast rainy summer days that we have too often over here in the UK. Watson was first noticed through YouTube with his covers of Bombay Bicycle Club tracks and his vocals and acoustic riffs remind me so much of Ben Howard.

The Delta Riggs- Supersonic Casualties

This song has such a sixties vibe, perfect for the summer! Discovered these guys through the lovely Alix at their PR company. The Aussie band are currently touring in their home country but after a stint of gigs over here, I’m hoping they’ll be back again soon so that I can catch them live.

Saint Raymond- Everything She Wants

The Nottingham lad was playing at The Great Escape this year but I didn’t manage to catch him- waaa! He’s supporting Ed Sheeran on his tour and currently has three EPs under his belt, including his latest Ghosts. This track is mega catchy and I’m looking forward to hearing more of his material- can’t believe he’s only 19!!

 

What are you guys currently listening to? Send anything you think I’d like my way! Have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “What I’m listening to: New Music

  1. Danielle! Hi, its John!
    Awesome playlist, you should also give Raleigh Ritchie a listen to, notably “Stronger Than Ever” (Amazing Music Video BTW) and “Stay Inside”, he proves people should have more time for UK Hip-Hop because they produce with far, far less arrogance than their American counterparts.
    Also try Rob Finlay, his song Sister to a Brother is hitting well in the States.

    Hope you’re well and here’s Youtube links to the songs 🙂

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QoyMvE5g7f8 – Stronger Than Ever
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rRg-ipjX-vU – Stay Inside
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0PzVB2wC4Og – Sister to a Brother

    • Hey John,

      I’m well thanks, hope you’re good! Thanks for these little gems, I’ve heard of Rob Finlay but haven’t had a chance to listen to his stuff so thanks for the Youtube links! I agree, UK hip-hop is way underrated but I think that makes it more accessible to a wider audience because people embrace it more than US artists.

Leave a Reply

