Where have I been?

You might have noticed the blog has a new look…

You might have noticed that I’ve been M.I.A since October…

2015 diary and blog ideas journal

People change all the time and I guess life changed even more so once I knew I had a permanent job in an environment I love and with more responsibility.

There are a few of reasons why I stopped blogging for a while:

  1. When you live in front of a screen for around 10 hours a day and glued to your phone, the last thing I wanted to do was to drag my laptop out and come up with engaging content.
  2. Admittedly I’ve felt tired, stressed and I’m still trying to get the right kind of work-life balance but I didn’t want to come across as an ungrateful so-and-so in my blog posts, or a complete misery-guts for one!
  3. My blog started off as a uni project and then grew into a diary I guess, documenting my life to where I am today and everything I went through to get to this point.

I kind of want to start afresh with the blog without creating a new one completely, it’s still very much Essex & The City.

While I’d love the time to be able to incorporate video etc into my blog (the world and I are soooo not ready for my incoherent ramblings) monetising has never been something I’ve wanted to do with it.

I know it’s important to move forward with the times but for me, blogging is something I enjoy, something that’s almost therapeutic and if people enjoy reading what I write, that’s even better. I’m not going to try and plunge into the rat-race that is the blogosphere.

I’m hoping the site looks a little cleaner and I’ve been lucky enough to learn so much in the past six months in terms of social media, picture editing and stats.

Remember how I always speak about life is made up of little chapters? Well, I think I’m on to a new book…

Leave a Reply

